Next Generation Explorers Award

28 Mar 2021 12:54 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

Hundreds of attendees viewed the finalist presentations, interviews and live awards of the inaugural Frank-Arnott - Next Generation Explorers Award at this year's virtual PDAC 2021 convention!

It was a nail-biting finish, but the judges returned with their decision and the first-place winner and recipient of the $5000 award was the Inca Team!
Inca worked on the Yukon Plateau Dataset and featured students from the Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos in Peru, the University of Tasmania in Australia and Brigham Young University in the USA.

Team UWA from The University of Western Australia placed second and will receive the $3000 award, and the CSM Exploration Initiative from the Camborne School of Mines, University of Exeter placed third and will receive the $2000 award.
Congratulations Inca, UWA and CSM!!
Inca also snagged the Audience Choice Award, however, Platypus Xplorer from UniLaSalle was very close behind!
The Next Generation Explorers Award Association would like to thank all the finalists and contending teams for participating. We're proud of everything you've accomplished!

Please visit to view all the teams and their resumes, and stay tuned for updates on the 2022 NGEA - we'll be launching at the end of the month!

Inca Team - 1st Place

Victor Torres Pacheco (University of Tasmania), Sylvie Littledale
(Brigham Young University), Orlando Bazan Santa Cruz,
Juan Carlos Bazan Sotomayor, Saul Romero Enriquez,
Fernando Herrera Pinedo and Yaldri Bravo Meza
(San Marcos University)
Yukon Plateau Dataset

Team UWA - 2nd Place 

Tasman Gillfeather-Clark, David Nathan,
Luke Smith and Lu Li

CSM Exploration Initiative - 3rd Place

Liam Clegg (CSM), Sharlotte Mkonto (Queen's University, Canada),
David Campbell Camblor (CSM), Cyprien Niyigena (CSM),
Xuyang Meng (Laurentian University), Charlie Hicklin (CSM),
Chetan Soni (CSM), Leoni Strobl (University of Utrecht),
Oscar Ryan (CSM), Josh Grattage (CSM), Alda Chimuco (CSM),
Ayub Mhina (Manitoba University, Canada), Alexandra Hutchings (MSC) and Alex Jenkins (University of Bristol)
Quesnel Trough Dataset

Thank you to our sponsors for their continued support of the award! 
A special thanks goes out to the Decennial Mineral Exploration Conferences (DMEC) who generously covered the cost for 49 of our NGEA students to attend short courses during the convention. If you were one of these students, please reach out to DMEC with your appreciation!
To learn more about sponsoring the award or to view the full list of sponsors, please visit our website.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software